Webpack config for Elm

For my dmx-zettelkasten plugin I want to add a loader that can handle the .elm file type.

Unfortunately I am not an expert when it comes to customizing the webpack.config.js.

Since I essentially need a bridge to render Elm modules in a Vue application, I use Lindsay Wardell’s elm-vue-bridge package. The vue.config.js mentioned there adds the elm-webpack-loader:

module.exports = {
  configureWebpack: {
    module: {
      rules: [
        {
          test: /\.elm$/,
          exclude: [/elm-stuff/, /node_modules/],
          use: { loader: "elm-webpack-loader", options: {} }
        }
      ]
    }
  }
};

Outside the dmx codebase this works, but I need help to configure the webpack.config.js for my dmx plugin inside it’s modules-external directory. See this commit.

You can write 2 types of plugins for the DMX platform. Both rely on the DMX backend and data model, but differ at the frontend:

1. Plugins that extend the DMX Webclient.
    You can e.g. mount custom (Vue) components to the Webclient’s toolbar or provide custom renderers for e.g. the detail panel. You’re fixed to use Vue (and Vuex) as this is the technology the DMX Webclient is based on.

2. Plugins that create a proprietary web frontend – besides the DMX Webclient (like e.g. the dm5-mobile plugin).
    In this case you’re free to choose any frontend technology you like.

What kind of plugin do you want develop?

As you mention Elm I guess you’re aiming for 2.
In this case the dm5-plugin-template is not suitable.
See the webpack.config.js of the dm5-mobile project as a template instead.