Initial greetings

Hello everyone!

My name is Fulvio and I am a system administrator from Italy.
I’ve come into contact with DMX while doing research on tools for personal knowledge management several months and, although rather difficult for me to grok, the concept behind it stuck.
Recently I’ve started (well more like continued) to despair trying to find a system which might help me model interconnected information in a visual fashion for my work (and not just that).
We manage several tens of platforms for customers, but the amount of information is becoming difficult to manage, especially with the quantity of customisations and the amount of layers of systems we need to deal with.
I wished to find a flexible model to flesh out the objects involved and link them in a way which would be easy for a human to understand and search, which could be used by a team to store and search for information through connections. For instance, which configuration files must be modified to activate a certain functionality? What’s impacted by rebooting or shutting down a certain subservice? Which customer was this customisation created for? On which servers or for which customers is that certain functionality enabled? That information would come mostly, but not necessarily, from manual input.

I’ve started looking into the concept of topic maps and I find it appealing for my purposes, although at this point my understanding is still too shallow to grasp it properly. Not to mention that, as it goes for many concepts or software which match the way I think things should be approached or handled, there doesn’t seem to be a sizable and well-maintained ecosystem around it, afaics.

If anyone would provide me some pointers to good material to deepen my understanding on the subject I would really appreciate it.
In the meantime I have a few questions which I hope might find quick answers for.